This Gulf of Time and Stars – book review

519djgw3qhl-_sx330_bo1204203200_Julie Czerneda brings the reader back to the site of her first book, the Trade Pact and spins a dramatic story full of surprises and twists. I can’t say too much about the story without giving away the surprises that make it so fun. As always, one of Czerneda’s strengths is the characters that inhabit her stories. And back for the first time in years are a host of characters familiar to readers. And it was great to revisit them. This Gulf of Time and Stars is essential reading for fans of Czerneda’s Trade Pact and Stratification trilogies. That’s the only shortcoming for the book, which is the first in a new trilogy titled Reunification; this is not a book with which you should start reading her works. Czerneda does a good job of providing backstory, but if you haven’t read the aforementioned trilogy then there is still what I would feel is too high a barrier to entry.

After a book packed with developments and revelations, I’m looking forward to the next book in the series. Only about five months to wait.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s